Half Marathon Training – Week 5

I just finished up week 5 for half marathon training.  I did a total of 21 miles this week, and surprisingly, my shorter runs this week weren’t nearly as good as my last run.

Monday I sort of dragged out the 3 miles as it as the day Rick left for a business trip.  My legs felt heavy.  I was just happy to be done with the run, but feeling a little bummed knowing that when I returned home he wouldn’t be there.  I guess the run wasn’t all that bad because I kept it at 10:32 pace and finished in 31:38 but just mentally, my head wasn’t in it.

Tuesday I also did 3 miles and brought the dog along with me because he was driving me batty with his constant two year-old energy.  Poor Autumn, she’s eleven years-old and staying with us indefinitely (at this time). So the run, it started out a little rough until Wally finally settled into it after 2 miles of battling.  I could finally relax and he understood that it was indeed, NOT doggie social time.  Seriously, what a work out keeping him on pace.  Who needs body sculpting! Ha! We finished in 30:13 and kept a 10:04 pace.

Wednesday was a rest day.  I tried out a new pilates class and loved it.  However, it’s in the morning and there is no way that is possible for the summer schedule. Bummer.

Thursdays run was the 5 mile run.  It was a pretty decent run.  I was where I wanted to be pace wise, an average of 10:17 pace.  I remember not really wanting to go and run but still I had to do it.  It was 4:00pm when I took off to do it.  The first couple of miles my legs were like rocks again but once I got into a groove, I felt much better. Finished in 50:35.

Mile 1 – 10:47

Mile 2 – 10:40

Mile 3 – 10:33

Mile 4 – 10:10

Mile 5 – 9:10

Friday was another rest day where I did nothing and actually rested, and cleaned house.  I also hit up my chiropractor for an adjustment in preparation for tomorrow’s long run. Also, Rick would be home that afternoon!

Saturday, my longest run of the week! 10 miles.  I was a little apprehensive about it because I wasn’t really into my runs this week.  I did them but I just was sort of beat, and that could have been from doing the single parenting thing.  Who knows.  At any rate… my longest run ever. 10 miles.  I was really hoping my legs weren’t going to feel heavy again the first couple of miles, which they did and seriously, I NEED my yoga.

Also, I got to wear a pair of my newest shorts. Love.

Anyway, I decided to try out Map My Run.  I mapped out my 10 miles and pretty much stuck with it.  I really enjoyed my run, and it was nice to be able to share my run with Rick beforehand so that he would know what area I would be in.

So, here it is! The break down of my longest (ever!) run to date.  I dedicated it to my Dad.

Mile 1 – 11:10

Mile 2 – 11:28

Mile 3 – 10:42

Mile 4 – 10:39

Mile 5 – 10:28 <—- Thinking about my Dad.  I got a little teary thinking about how much I really miss him.

Mile 6 – 10:14 <— about halfway into mile 6 I took a GU, Jet Blackberry. Like!  I also took a sip from my newly purchased Fuel Belt Wedge bottle with clip.  I got it from Amazon and this photo shows the clip as plastic but it’s actually metal.  This thing rocks and I am so glad I got it!  I didn’t weigh me down at all. It’s just 8 oz.  I had it on my hip the entire time and didn’t even notice it.

Mile 7 – 10:29 <— During mile 7  my right knee stiffened up a bit, which I think I may have been due to the small hill.  The knee I had ACL surgery on when I was in  high school. Ugh!

Mile 8 – 10:22 <— I concentrated on my pace and working through the tightness in my knee (with a little hydration).

Mile 9 – 9:50

Mile 10 – 9:37

I ended up finishing in 1:45:15 at a 10:29 pace.  10.03 miles.  I felt really good when I finished too.  Then I did this for a while right after, and again once more before bed.

Finished up with a little yoga stretching at home, foam rolling, and shin rolling.  Took some ibuprofen, and I felt fine and normal this morning.  Thank goodness! The knee stiffness scared me a little bit.

I am so happy that I rocked out my long run once again! 1:45:15!  Go me!   Looking forward to some PranaVayu-Inspired yoga tomorrow!

4 thoughts on “Half Marathon Training – Week 5

  1. Your post is extremely inspiring and motivating to me! I love running and attending races. My friends and I ran the 15K Jacksonville River Run in Jan. and recently decided to train for our first half marathon. It is the Marine Corps half marathon Oct. 1st. Since the River Run I been slacking on the running but July 18th I will start training again. If you have any advice please share and best of luck to you with your training!

  2. I love this article. I am wanting to do a half marathon training. Out of the 5 days I run a week I try to do atleast a 5k. I have also run up to 6 miles a week ago.

    I will subscribe and follow your progress.

Leave a Reply

