Excuses, Excuses

Okay, I am totally behind on blogging.  I just finally got around to publishing the post on the cookies I made for Easter! Oh, and the ear infection is GONE.  Finally…after an antibiotic switch and some antibiotic ear drops.  The heck!

Anyway, it’s been a bit busy here  lately despite the ear infections because it’s the end of the semester and like most professors, they like to give you new assignments the last two weeks.  Quizzes, assigned a movie to watch (Dr. Strangelove or, How I Stopped Worrying and Love the Bomb…interesting, and excellent), a paper on said movie, a few more group discussions, oh, and don’t forget to read those three chapters this week!  Thank goodness, it’s finals week and I take my last final on Thursday or Friday. Awww, yeah!

A free bird this weekend and will celebrate in a souvlaki induced coma.

Why a souvlaki induced coma?  The annual Greek Festival is here and I look forward to it  every May! St. Sophia just loves to rake in the dough, so they also have another “take-out” thingy later in the summer which, dude.  Again, two times a year I am induced in Greek goodness.  Baklava. Loukoumades.  Spanakopita.  Marinated meat…pork, chicken, I’m salivating thinking about it.  Oh, and the Beer. Oh, and the many assorted cookies. Dude.

So, what else is/was up?  Mother’s Day!  I hope you all had a super great one!  Mine was a weekend of goodness with my family, a hike, a yummy breakfast, a yoga class and then a trip to visit my Mom.

The husband and kids took me to Fleet Feet on Saturday so that I could indulge myself in a new pair of properly fitted running sneakers.  Ever since I’ve had kids my whole body is off… and my feet grew while I was pregnant, then went back.  Sort of.  I was a little worried because I have a super low arch as it is, but I felt my feet got wider but after strutting my stuff, good news! I run perfectly fine, and a neutral shoe is still a good fit for me.  I did a few laps in a few pair of shoes but I ultimately went back to the first ones the guy put me in.

Brooks Ghost 3

I love the room in the toe box, as well as how light they felt!  Although, I am still contemplating the New Balance 759. Of course I see they are on sale on Amazon and wonder if I should just get them.  But I’ll wait and see how these Brooks work out for me, I suppose!

I also got a Superfeet insole to help support my arch.  I took them for a quick two mile spin before Prana-Inspired Yoga tonight.  So far, so good!

So, yeah, school. Kids. Kids school (they finish next month, aaaaahhh!!) Mother’s Day. Birthday parties; ‘Tis the season…. if you’re not careful you could book yourself into a party every weekend. No thank you!

Alright, I’m out of excuses.  I’ll try to do better.  I’m off to roll out my shins and shower.  I love runs followed up with 90 minutes of yoga!

PS  I held a new pose tonight… I think it was the beginning steps to the Firefly? Then we did a lotus pose with a forward bend and lift onto your elbows… I need to work on that one!  Also, opening my back up..

Leave a Reply

