Tilapia Stir-Fry

As you might or might not know, I’ve recently become addicted to rice noodles.  They were delicious in the Asian Beef with Noodles soup, and are good cold.  I’m thinking a cold summer salad in the future with them.

At any rate, I had them on hand and I had picked up tilapia for dinner… what to do with the tilapia.  I get bored of steaming and baking it, and I had to use up some leftover chicken stock, carrots and broccoli so I thought stir-fry!

So here it is.  I searched out some recipes and decided to go with the one from Taste of Home, which called for chicken but bahhhhhhh.  When do I ever really follow a recipe exactly!

Tilapia Stir-Fry adapted from Taste of Home found on allrecipes.com

Ingredients I used: 

  • tilapia – 3 filets
  • cornstarch
  • soy sauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder
  • cooking oil,  I used canola
  • broccoli florets
  • celery, sliced
  • carrots, chopped
  • yellow onion, chopped
  • chicken stock, 1 – 2 cups

I basically prepared this the way the recipe stated.  As for the ingredients, oftentimes I don’t measure when I cook.  I just add as much or as little of what we like, or what we have… don’t waste and use what you have!

Prep:

Cook the rice noodles according to directions.  Be careful not to over cook.  After they are done, run under cold water to stop the cooking process.  Set aside.

Cut fish into strips; place in a resealable plastic bag. Add cornstarch and toss to coat. Combine soy sauce, ginger and garlic powder; add to bag and shake well. Refrigerate for 30 minutes.
In a large skillet, heat 2 tablespoons of oil; stir-fry fish until no longer pink, about 3-5 minutes. Remove and keep warm.
Add remaining oil;  stir- fry broccoli, celery, carrots and onion  until crisp-tender. Remove. Add  chicken stock and brought to boil then re-added vegetables. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly.
Divide the rice noodles into bowls, and spoon stir-fry vegetables and sauce over the noodles.  Add the fish.
The fish was so delicious.  I think it was definitely better than chicken (which, chicken…ehhh.  I’m not a big chicken person. Strange, I know!).  Anyway,  the kids couldn’t stop picking at it before the meal was even assembled!  It was light, and filling… the flavors blended nicely with the rice noodles.
Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

