Avocado Fries

Today the monkeys and I decided to try a new snack.  A snack I came across in the Coastal Living magazine, that I just had to try once I saw them. I headed out at 8pm last night to pick up the panko breadcrumbs (and of course grabbed some rice noodles….just in case) so that we would be prepared after school.

Here they are, the second batch, cut a little thicker than the first batch that we inhaled.   I actually snapped a photo before we gobbled these up! I definitely prefer the thinner slices.

I sprinkled a little sea salt on them, and thought of adding parmesan but I tend to add parmesan to everything for the kids… I kept it basic.  They were delicious, very creamy with a crunch.  I will definitely make them again as a side to something heartier!

I did everything exact on this one.

Avocado Fries adapted from Sunset found on my recipes.com

Ingredients

  • Canola oil for frying
  • 1/4  cup  flour
  • About 1/4 tsp. kosher salt
  • 2  large eggs, beaten to blend
  • 1 1/4  cups  panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
  • 2  firm-ripe medium avocados, pitted, peeled, and sliced into 1/2-in. wedges
Prep:1. Preheat oven to 200°. In a medium saucepan, heat 1 1/2 in. oil until it registers 375° on a deep-fry thermometer. 

2. Meanwhile, mix flour with 1/4 tsp. salt in a shallow plate. Put eggs and panko in separate shallow plates. Dip avocado in flour, shaking off excess. Dip in egg, then panko to coat. Set on 2 plates in a single layer.

3. Fry a quarter of avocado slices at a time until deep golden, 30 to 60 seconds. Transfer slices to a plate lined with paper towels. Keep warm in oven while cooking remaining avocados. Sprinkle with salt to taste.

George’s at the Cove, La Jolla, California

Sunset, APRIL 2009

One thought on “Avocado Fries

Leave a Reply

