The Night Before My First Half Marathon {Eeek!}

We made it to Portland earlier this afternoon with two hours to spare before packet pick-up ended! Wahoo!  Also, I’m pretty tired so I’m going to jam this post out.

Firstly though, let me just say Happy Birthday to my husband!

The birthday boy with my phone, ignoring my need for a photo!

This was taken at David’s Restaurant in Portland, ME.   It’s where we had dinner tonight, and it was delicious.  I over-stuffed myself and now I am ready for bed!

My pre-run dinner was the Exotic Mushroom Ravioli.

Delicious, I ate it up and then ate about 3 more rolls of bread…  can you tell I’m carb loading, or what!

Rick had the Fresh Herb Crusted Haddock with Mussels and said it was delicious as well.

He too ate his all up.  Before the main courses though, we did have some rolls with fresh herbs, olive oil and parmesan cheese as well as an order of fresh bruschetta with olive tempanada and goat cheese.  I didn’t manage to snap a photo of that but that too was delicious!

After that we took a drive along the half marathon route to get some idea of what I would be running and where Rick could decide he wanted to cheer me on.  Here’ some photos of the beautiful scenery I’ll be running by tomorrow morning!  I’m not going to even attempt to take photos… ha!

I’ll get to start here on the Eastern Promenade Trail along Casco Bay.

Casco Bay

Then have a chance to run through the beautiful Gilsland Farm Audubon Center.

Gilsland Farm Audubon Center

Gilsland Audubon Center scenery

The road through the Audubon Center is about a 1/2 mile.

We saw about 5 ground hogs here on our way out of the Audubon center!

Then I’ll run back into Portland and hit the Back Cove Portland Trail.

It’s about a 4 mile run around the Back Cove/Back Bay  on a crushed stone trail.

Here’s some photos from around it.

City of Portland in the distance on the Back Cove Trail

Portland

Back Cover around mile 11

Then, I will meet back up with the Eastern Promenade Trail along Casco Bay and head to the finish line at the Maine State Pier!

Eastern Promenade Trail

I can’t believe I’ll be running my first half marathon tomorrow!   I’m excited and nervous, and hoping my SI joint won’t act up.  I’ve been uncomfortable all week.  I went and got adjusted yesterday at the chiropractor and have been doing yoga along with my short runs this week. I’m hoping all goes well tomorrow.

My running gear for tomorrow.

My Zune and Garmin are charging so I should be good to go.  I’m off to bed now, so tired!

Wish me luck!

One thought on “The Night Before My First Half Marathon {Eeek!}

Leave a Reply

