Asian Beef and Noodle Soup – So Delish!

Okay, I’ve had this posted as a draft since Saturday…then all hell broke lose here but I won’t go into that since this is a post on food.  Yummy, delicious, I will make it again food!

Monday (March 07th)  the Cookin’ Canuck had a post on Asian Beef and Noodle soup.  I couldn’t get it out of my mind that entire day when I saw the photo.  I ended up making it the very next day.

Talk about delicious, and flavorful!  Not to mention quick and easy, which being a stay at home parent sometimes often calls upon.

Unfortunately, I didn’t take any photos but you can go ahead and check it out here, and here (Tasty Kitchen) for a step by step instructions on how to make it.

Asian Beef and Noodle Soup adapted from Mary Helen, a Tasty Kitchen user.

Ingredients:

  • canola oil
  • beef steak, thinly sliced; I used New York Strip
  • beef broth
  • bok choy, chopped
  • mushrooms, sliced; I used white button and portobello although she recommends shitake
  • onion, chopped
  • ginger, grated
  • thin noodles; I used Chinese rice noodles and felt they really made this dish!
  • salt
  • pepper

I prepared this a little differently than that of the original recipe, and is definitely a full meal in a single bowl.  (Shush, I had two bowls it was that good!).

Cook the rice noodles according to directions.  Be careful not to overcook.  After they are done, run under cold water to stop the cooking process. I absolutely recommend the rice noodles.  You can find a 101 on them here.

In a large saucepan, combine beef broth, soy sauce and fresh grated ginger. Bring to a low simmer.

Heat canola oil in large saute pan and toss in onions and mushrooms until lightly browned.  Add this mixture to the beef broth mixture.

Heat canola oil again in the same large saute pan and add the chopped bok choy, until wilted.  This only takes a couple of minutes.  Add to the beef broth mixture.

This is where I differed in my cooking technique; rather than adding the sliced meat directly to the broth mixture, I added canola oil again to the saute pan and did a quick stir fry of the thin slices.  I then added (dumped!)  the entire pan in to the beef broth mixture.

Let simmer for a few minutes, and then remove the saucepan from the heat.

Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Optional suggestion from her website; Stir in chopped scallions, sliced fresh basil, and sesame oil.  None of which I did due to the little ones or not having it on hand (basil).

Divide the noodles between four bowls and ladle the soup over top. Serve.

I did however take on her suggestion of crushed red pepper flakes in my bowl of soup for a little kick.  Delicious!

Bon appétit!

[Photo via Tigers and Strawberries]

4 thoughts on “Asian Beef and Noodle Soup – So Delish!

Leave a Reply

